How to Make More Sales in a Retail Store

“Instead of asking, ‘Hi, may I help you?’ try ‘Hi, have you been in here before?’ The customer will respond with either a ‘yes’ or a ‘no.’ In either case, you are then free to pursue the conversation.

“If the answer is yes, you can say, ‘Great. We’ve created a special new program for people who have shopped here before. Let me take just a minute to tell you about it.’

“If the answer is no, you can say, ‘Great, we’ve created a special new program for people who haven’t shopped here before. Let me take just a minute to tell you about it.’

“Of course, you’ll have to have created a special new program to talk about in either case. But that’s the easy part.

“Just think. A few simple words. Nothing fancy. But the result is guaranteed to put money in your pocket. How much? That depends on how enthusiastically you do it.” (p. 119)

2 responses to “How to Make More Sales in a Retail Store

  1. buzzworthymedia

    I throughly disagree with the principle laid out in this post.

    The first red flag has to be the word “guaranteed.” Nothing on this planet is guaranteed to put money in someone’s pocket. I’m confident that if I was to play the role of customer in this scenario, I could easily see a less than successful conclusion for this transaction.

    Secondly, I’m often off-put by being approached by a salesman looking to tell me about a program that I have no interest in. Should I decide in that situation to make a purchase, it clearly would be with another associate.

  2. I figure the best way is to be honest, instead of saying “hey is there anything I can help you find?”, which makes the customer think on the spot and then choose the easy answer (no), change the question to something like “Hey would you like me to find you a couple pairs of denim in your size?”, in which case the easier answer is yes. Then to top it off, you bring them the jeans, and while they’re looking at them you say, “I know of a great top which would go really well with those jeans…” as long as you can find one that does go well with the jeans, you’ve easily gotten the customer to consider three items they probably wouldn’t have before.

Leave a Reply

